Plea for an ATO design please

Home Forums DIY Tank Equipment Plea for an ATO design please

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    cooljim
    Participant

I’m after an instructional to make a fail safe ato to go in a back sump of a nano I’m setting up please.

I use an optical Aquasmart in my main tank which I like but money constraints mean I would rather DIY one for this new setup.

It has to be neat and small as the back sump will be lit as a refugium and on view.

I have no experience in any of this so please explain like I’m a dimwit. All I guess is, I need a float switch or optical sensor mounted somehow – I guess both would be more failsafe ( I really struggled to find epoxy coated neodymium magnets last time I tried, at a reasonable price) and small pump. I then somehow by sone crazy magic wire them together and bobs your uncle an ato that will never fail and lead to divorce with ‘flooded the effin house’ cited as a reason.

If you could link or tell me where to get the bits online even better!

Many thanks all

discreet.jim
    Participant

Okay. For super simple. I’d do two float switches. A relay. 12v and power plug.
    You could probably do without the relay if the pump is low powered.

You get little coin protectors from fleabay that will fit a small neo magnet in.

discreet.jim
    Participant

How would I wire and set all this up please, sorry. Think I could blag it but I’d rather know properly.

discreet.jim
    Participant

Where abouts are you located? I’m in the process of setting up a new larger tank and have plenty of space and dont have any of the fish you have mentioned sorry correction I have one clown but it can be kept in my small tank so not a problem.

I know this is not a sales thread just wanted to show that if it was something you wanted or needed to do I’m able to help depending on location

amusing_jim
    Participant

I did mine with a microcontroller. But the switches can be used in circuit for low amp pumps.